2016 George Becton Trophy

For details of the 2016 event see bottom of page

This is the club's traditional end of season event. Normally held over two consecutive Thursday evenings in late August/early September it comprises a scratch race followed by a handicapped race based on times from the first race over our 5 K route. This year it is being run in early August.

Start of the 2014 Scratch Race

 Start of the 2007 Scratch Race
Originally it was the only club competition first being run in 1999. In 2003 it was renamed the George Becton Trophy in memory of George Becton, an enthusiastic club member who sadly died in 2003. 
George Becton (top left) at the start of the Snake Lane 10
The original route started and finished at the New Inn on Long Street and followed an anticlockwise track round North Moor Road and Thirsk Road. The present route using Tanpit Lane and running anticlockwise along Thirsk Road to North Moor Road was considered to be safer and introduced in 2007.
  Start of the Scratch Race 26 August 2010

Previous winners

2003 Ken Dart                  2004 Carol Willis              2005 David Carroll               2006 Gregor Tubb

2007 Josh Williams           2008 Pippa Hutton            2009 Stuart Selby-Gerrold    2010 Anne-Marie Chaytor  

2011 Lindsey Walker         2012 Ross Quin                2013 Mike Bishop                 2014 Steph Gould

2015 Ann Bean                 2016 Laura Border



George Becton Trophy 2016



4th and 11th August, Start  7.20 p.m. 



Start/Finish at the Library, Tanpit Lane, Easingwold. (Meet at the Galtres Centre at 6.50 pm as normal for signing on, briefing and warm up run to start)



Race 1 - 4th August – a Scratch race over our 5K route.


Race 2 - 11th August – a Handicap race ( for the George Becton Trophy) over the same course.


Starting times for the Handicap race will be calculated using the times from the Scratch Race plus any other relevant data such as previous times, current form etc.



Handicap winner will receive the George Becton Trophy (as long as you ran in the scratch race)

Prizes will be awarded to the first three finishes at the Awards evening on 8th September.



To qualify for an award you must:

Complete Race 1, the Scratch Race and Race 2 the Handicap Race.

Be a fully paid up member of Easingwold Running Club.


CLUB COLOURS should be worn for both races.
please let the organisers know if :-

you run in Race 1 but can’t compete in Race 2.

you can’t run in Race 1 but want to compete in Race 2.

you are willing to marshal on either event.



If you require further info please contact Roger 01347 822641.

The Route


2016 Results


2014 Results

Steph Gould 2014 Handicap Winner 

Shaun Lawson -new course record 2014
The Administrator,
14 Aug 2016, 05:08
The Administrator,
7 Sep 2014, 08:28
The Administrator,
7 Sep 2014, 07:10
The Administrator,
14 Aug 2016, 05:57
The Administrator,
17 Aug 2011, 13:29